english

敏锐的阅读、思考和写作是每一门大学预科英语课程的核心。
在所有年级,工作包括非正式的课堂讨论,仔细阅读文学作品,以及频繁的写作作业,如阅读测验,分析性文章,以及创造性的小说和诗歌。班级规模较小,并提供充足的机会与教师进行个人会议以及小组工作。在整个四年的课程中,所学习的文学作品代表了各种类型、风格、时期和声音,这可以培养学生的知识好奇心和文化意识。

大学预科班的学生每学期都要注册一门英语课程,英语I(九年级)和英语II(十年级)是全年的课程。英语一(九年级)和英语二(十年级)是全年级课程。在十一年级和十二年级,学生可以选择各种为期一学期的研讨会。

除了本系提供的特定课程外,学生还有很多机会培养自己对文学的兴趣和写作能力。我们鼓励各年级的学生向校报和艺术杂志投稿。本系为希望有机会复习和准备英语AP考试的学生提供高级预科讲习班。英语研讨会还辅以实地考察校外演出和文学家、作家、音乐家的客座讲座。

2个项目的清单。

  • 英语一(九年级)

    在英语I课程中,学生们将培养精读、批判性思维和分析性写作的技能,这些技能将贯穿于他们的大学预科教育和其他课程中。课程的特点是对阅读作业进行非正式的讨论,练习用抽象的语言表达观点,用具体的文字证据来支持观察结果,指导写作艺术和频繁的写作作业,以及定期的语法和词汇课程。一年中,从英语一教师确定的课文清单中选取一本夏季阅读书开始。秋季和春季课程阅读书包括现代短剧、抒情诗、《麦田守望者》和《了不起的盖茨比》等小说,以及谢尔曼-阿莱克西、詹姆斯-鲍德温、朱姆帕-拉希里、托尼-莫里森等人的短篇小说。
  • 英语二(十年级)

    英语二课拓宽了学生对主要文学流派、传统和作家的经验。本年度以讨论夏季阅读任务开始。秋季和春季课程阅读包括《麦克白》、《过客》、《父与子》和《第十二夜》。在九年级所介绍的作文和讨论技巧的基础上,英语二提供了正式论文写作的持续练习和偶尔的创造性工作。学生还将继续广泛地进行诗歌、小说和现代作文的写作。通过写作、修改和练习,学生加深了对语法和风格原则的理解。通过写分析性文章,他们培养了批判性思维和仔细观察的技能。通过个人写作,他们培养作为作家的声音和作为思想家的气质。

诗教

研讨会

14个项目的清单。

  • 佳能和挑战赛

    我们在文学上走得越远,就越能清晰地找到自己和自己的根。在我们的文学史上,某些书成为我们所谓的"正典"的一部分。也就是说,它们成为塑造、反映和延续不平等、种族主义和奴隶制等主导主题的强大力量--正如卡尔-马克思告诉我们的那样,主导阶级的思想。其他文学作品则竭力挑战、削弱或取代这些思想和代表这些思想的书籍。本课程研究古希腊和罗马文学作品,着眼于辨别"正典"及其"挑战者"。作者包括许多耳熟能详的名字--赫玛、维吉尔和奥维德,还有一些不太熟悉的名字,如萨福(古人称她为"第十缪斯")和埃斯库罗斯等。
  • 成年

    这门课程的重点是"成年"小说,也被称为bildungsroman,或教育小说,在这门课程中,一个年轻人不仅从书本和学校学习,而且从经验本身学习。主题、阅读和写作作业都是针对国家和机构关于种族的对话而安排的。文学作品完全由BIPOC作者创作,大部分是女性,并从文学作品和学生自身的经历中考虑种族在美国成年后的作用。读物包括托尼-莫里森的《所罗门之歌》和海伦娜-玛丽亚-维拉蒙特斯的《耶稣脚下》等。
  • 最致命的陷阱

    就像大海本身一样,航海文学充满了冒险、盐分、崇高和危险。本课程回顾了它的历史,从柯勒律治的《古代航海家的时代》到海明威的《老人与海》,再到斯皮尔伯格的标志性夏季大片《大白鲨》,以及鲜为人知的作品如《逃亡奴隶约翰-汤普森的生活》。阅读内容包括精选的海歌和颂歌,以及散文、故事和诗歌。本课程的中心内容是那个最伟大的鱼的故事和文学最致命的渔获,梅尔维尔的史诗《白鲸》。学生们考虑到海上生活的变革性体验,如改变了的航海者所叙述的,他遭受了孤独和性格考验的磨难;船作为僵化的等级结构中捆绑在一起的人之间冲突的戏剧性坩埚;海洋及其海岸作为人类与自然、捕食者与猎物、文明与野蛮之间复杂相遇的背景。
  • 小说中的家庭

    托尔斯泰在《安娜-卡列尼娜》的开篇就提出了一个或许从未被如此表达过的观点。"幸福的家庭都是相似的,每个不幸福的家庭都以自己的方式不幸福。"本次研讨会探讨小说中的家庭,有时会因为心理、社会、甚至超自然的原因而变得幸福,但更多的是不幸福。可能的文本包括托尼-莫里森的《爱人》、扎迪-史密斯的《白牙》和加布里埃尔-加西亚-马尔克斯的《百年孤独》。
  • 哈林文艺复兴

    "有的年头会问问题,有的年头会回答问题。"佐拉-尼尔-赫斯顿
    在第一次世界大战和非裔美国人向梅森-迪克逊线以北大量迁徙之后,哈莱姆文艺复兴开始了。作为爵士乐时代的一部分和所有艺术形式的开花,哈莱姆文艺复兴诞生了许多关键的非裔美国人文化人物,这些人物至今仍令人印象深刻,如兰斯顿-休斯、贝西-史密斯、约瑟芬-贝克、路易斯-阿姆斯特朗等。本次研讨会通过Jean Toomer的《Cane》、Claude McKay的《Amiable with Big Teeth》和Jessie Redmon Fauset的《Plum Bun》等作品,调查了许多塑造这一辉煌时刻的关键作家和思想家。兰斯顿-休斯、爱丽丝-邓巴-尼尔森、乔治亚-道格拉斯-约翰逊和库伦的诗歌;佐拉-尼尔-赫斯顿、理查德-赖特和查尔斯-约翰逊的短篇小说;以及来自有影响力的社会学家,如马库斯-加维、查尔斯-S.约翰逊和W.E.B.杜波依斯等有影响的社会学家的章节。
  • 让我们以小博大。小作品,大冲击

    这个研讨会探讨了作者如何通过文学的一些最小的形式来解决生活中的一些最大的问题。学生们将阅读许多文学形式的精妙例子,包括格言、书信、墓志铭、片段、闪电小说、寓言、俳句、维拉涅尔,甚至可能还有一两篇推特。本课程特别关注英语中最激动人心的诗歌形式:十四行诗,那十四行艺术、情感、智力和精神转化的奇迹。随着每一种形式的学习,学生们都会加深对形式与内容如何互动以创造丰富、复杂的文学意义的理解。
  • 文学怪兽

    文学传统的景观中到处都是文字和象征性的怪兽。本课程的任务是考虑这一现象,并探讨对它的可能解释。这些怪兽的想象功能是什么?它们被它们的祖先用于什么用途?它们说明了我们,我们最深的恐惧,最深的欲望是什么?在怪兽和种族/种族主义的交叉点上有什么?学生从不同的文本中选择阅读--童话故事、短篇小说、史蒂文森的《杰基尔医生和海德先生的怪事》、卡夫卡的《变形记》、拉瓦勒的《变人》和雪莱的《弗兰肯斯坦》;或者《现代普罗米修斯》、几首诗和两部戏剧--以激发对大的、小的、奇怪的和熟悉的怪兽的讨论。
  • 伦敦电话

    伦敦一直被描绘成许多事物的中心:犯罪的中心,戏剧的中心,收藏的中心,现代性的中心,也许最重要的是,帝国的中心。在这门课程中,学生将探索伦敦作为一个概念和环境,通过维多利亚时代和当代文学作品的混合游历。维多利亚时代的文本包括狄更斯和道尔的短篇小说。本学期以扎迪-史密斯(Zadie Smith)的《白牙》(White Teeth)结束,在这部作品中,加勒比海、印度和英国后裔的人物试图理解他们在20世纪衰落年代在伦敦的位置。根据所有这些作家的说法,伦敦可能正在衰败,但它也在召唤。
  • 西南旧事

    本次研讨会研究各种文化贡献,这些贡献交织在一起,构成了我们目前所说的拉丁语文学。这些文本回溯到土著人的过去,回溯到1848年以前的生活,回溯到家庭关系和与土地的联系优于移民局的政策和各种移民法案,回溯到当代围绕性别角色、身份、信仰和讲西班牙语的意义的代际斗争。阅读内容包括Victor Villaseñor的《金雨》、Maria Helena Viramontes的《And Their Dogs Came with Them》、Sandra Cisneros的《Caramelo》和Tomás Rivera的《...y no se lo tragó la tierra...》。大地没有吞噬他,还有诗歌、短篇小说和独幕剧。
  • 莎士比亚的笑声

    在他自己的时代,莎士比亚至少以他的喜剧和悲剧及历史而闻名。在这门课程中,学生将广泛地阅读他的喜剧作品,不仅将它们视为莎士比亚自己的时代--文艺复兴时期--的作品,而且将它们视为通过笑声探索最深刻体验的精湛而丰富的宝库。与悲剧不同的是,悲剧可能被一些希腊悲剧所媲美,但莎士比亚的喜剧,无论是之前还是之后,都没有任何作品能与之相比。莎士比亚让我们笑出了真、笑出了美、笑出了自己。
  • 第二种自我

    亚里士多德说,好朋友是第二个自己,一个人要想获得幸福,需要有德行的朋友。但朋友也可以是对手、竞争者和嫉妒的来源。在这门课程中,学生将探索友谊的复杂、有益、偶尔也会让人困惑的本质,尤其关注女性之间的友谊。阅读内容包括简-奥斯汀的《傲慢与偏见》、托尼-莫里森的《苏拉》、埃琳娜-费兰特的《我的天才朋友》,以及柏拉图、亚里士多德和西塞罗的简短哲学文章。该课程还涉及非正式写作作业、分析性文章和个人论文。
  • 我们自己的歌写个人文章和诗歌

    这门创意写作课程的重点是围绕COVID-19大流行病、持续的种族不公和黑人生命至上运动的当代写作。利用写作前的练习、对话、动感活动、音乐和同龄人研讨会来发掘每个人的独特之处,学生们写出他们所处的历史时刻。灵感来源于安吉拉-戴维斯、爱丽丝-沃克、特伦斯-海斯、詹姆斯-鲍德温等人的散文和诗歌精选。鼓励学生像作家一样阅读,敏锐地发现声音、叙述和风格的模仿技巧。每个学生都要写两篇高度精炼的个人文章和少量精巧的抒情诗。
  • 讲故事。写小说的艺术

    "许多年后,当奥雷良诺-布恩迪亚上校面对行刑队时,他要记住那个遥远的下午,他的父亲带他去发现冰。"加布里埃尔-加西亚-马尔克斯的《百年孤独》中的这句著名的第一句话立刻就把读者拉了进来。如何想出好的第一句话?如何让读者继续阅读?如何让你的人物在纸上活灵活现?在这门关于创意写作的课程中,学生们会研究这些问题以及更多的问题。本课程探讨了小说的基本要素--人物塑造、情节、背景、对话、节奏、观点,并提供了旨在发展这些领域技能的练习。学生阅读著名作家的故事和小说节选,分析他们的小说技巧,学习作家如何创造他们的效果,偶尔也会进行书面分析。最重要的是,每个学生都要自己创作小说。这门课程致力于创作,培养学生强烈、有力、独特的文学声音。
  • 河流知道什么

    为什么河流与故事的关系如此之深,为什么流水是人类经验的一个持久隐喻?赫拉克利特说"你不能两次踏入同一条河流"是什么意思?"你不能两次踏入同一条河流"是什么意思?或者威廉-詹姆斯创造"意识流"这个词时,他又是什么意思呢?这门课程是邀请大家在思考世界河流状况的同时,涉足这样的问题,正如诗人罗伯特-哈斯提醒我们的那样,"在人类与地球关系的历史上,我们此刻迫切需要这样做"。可能的读物包括赫尔曼-黑塞的《悉达多》、马克-吐温的《哈克贝利-费恩历险记》、杰斯明-沃德的《打捞骨头》和爱德华-阿比的《猴扳帮》等经典河流作品--这些小说提出了关于精神变革、种族政治觉醒和环境活动主义的探究性问题。其他来源包括Olivia Laing的奇妙的To the River(关于对Virginia Woolf如此重要的Sussex的River Ouse的层层历史),Pamela Michael的文集The Gift of Rivers的样本文章。水上生活的真实故事,以及宣传纪录片《DamNation》中关于拆除大坝项目的宣传片,该片旨在使美国的河流重新焕发生机。

英文

7名成员名单:

  • 朱莉-安德森的照片

    茱莉 安德森

    英语教师
    510-652-0111 x224
  • 理查德-库什曼的照片

    理查德 库什曼

    英语教师
    510-652-0111 x224
  • Jhoanna Infante的照片

    Jhoanna Infante

    英语教师
    510-652-0111 x224
  • Jeffrey Peterson的照片

    杰弗里 彼得森

    英语教师
    510-652-0111 x224
  • Andrea Tinnemeyer的照片

    安德烈亚 Tinnemeyer

    英语教师
    510-652-0111 x224
  • Susee Witt的照片

    Susee Witt 

    英语教师
    510-652-0111 x224
  • Alicia Mosley 

    英语教师

男装CONSCIA REPI

识时务者为俊杰

Perceptive reading, thinking, and writing are at the heart of every College Prep English course.
At all grade levels, work includes informal class discussions, close reading of literature, and frequent writing assignments such as reading quizzes, analytical essays, and creative fiction and verse. Classes are small and provide ample opportunity for individual conferences with instructors as well as group work. The literature studied throughout the four-year program represents a wide variety of genres, styles, periods, and voices, which develops students’ intellectual curiosity and cultural awareness.

Students at College Prep enroll in an English course every semester. English I (ninth grade) and English II (tenth grade) are yearlong courses. In the eleventh and twelfth grades, students choose from a variety of semester-long seminars.

In addition to specific courses offered by the department, there are numerous opportunities for students to develop their interest in literature and proficiency in writing. Students at all grade levels are encouraged to submit material to the school newspaper and arts magazine. Advanced Placement workshops are offered to students who want an opportunity to review and prepare for an English AP exam. English seminars are complemented by field trips to off-campus performances and guest lectures from literary scholars, writers, and musicians.

List of 2 items.

  • English I (9th grade)

    In English I, students develop skills in close reading, critical thinking, and analytical writing that they will use throughout their College Prep education and beyond. Classes feature informal discussions of reading assignments, practice in phrasing ideas abstractly and supporting observations with concrete textual evidence, instruction in the art of writing coupled with frequent writing assignments, and regular lessons in grammar and vocabulary. The year begins with a summer reading book from a list of texts identified by English I teachers. Fall and spring course readings include a short modern play, lyrical poetry, novels such as The Catcher in the Rye and The Great Gatsby, and short stories by Sherman Alexie, James Baldwin, Jhumpa Lahiri, Toni Morrison, and more.
  • English II (10th grade)

    English II broadens students’ experience with major literary genres, traditions, and writers. The year begins with discussion of the summer reading assignment. Fall and spring course readings include Macbeth, Passing, Fathers and Sons, and Twelfth Night. Building upon the composition and discussion skills introduced in the ninth grade, English II provides sustained practice in formal essay writing and occasional creative work. Students also continue to work extensively with poetry, fiction, and modern essays. Through writing, revision, and exercises, students deepen their understanding of grammar and principles of style. Through writing analytical essays, they develop skills in critical thinking and close observation. Through personal writing, they develop a voice as a writer and a temperament as a thinker.

on teaching poetry

Seminars

List of 14 items.

  • Canon and Challenge

    The farther back in literature we go, the more clearly we find ourselves and our roots. In our literary past, certain books became part of what we call “the canon.” That is, they became powerful forces in shaping, reflecting, and continuing dominant themes such as inequality, racism, and slavery — as Karl Marx tells us, the ideas of the dominant class. Other literary works struggle to challenge, weaken, or replace these ideas and the books that represent them. This course studies works from the literature of ancient Greece and Rome with an eye to discerning a “canon” and its “challengers.” Authors include many familiar names—Homer, Virgil, and Ovid—and some less familiar, such as Sappho (the Tenth Muse, as the ancients called her) and Aeschylus, among others.
  • Coming of Age

    This course focuses on the “coming of age” novel, also called the bildungsroman, or novel of education, in which a young person learns, not just from books and school, but from experience itself. The themes, readings, and writing assignments are structured in response to both national and institutional conversations about race. The literature is entirely by BIPOC authors, mostly women, and considers the role of race in coming of age in America both in the literature and in the students’ own experiences. The readings include Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison and Under the Feet of Jesus by Helena María Viramontes among others.
  • Deadliest Catches

    Like the sea itself, the literature of seafaring brims with adventure, salt, sublimity, and peril. This course surveys its history, from such classics as Coleridge’s The Rime of the Ancient Mariner to Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea to Spielberg’s iconic summer blockbuster, Jaws to lesser known works such as The Life of John Thompson, a Fugitive Slave. Readings include selected sea songs and chanteys, as well as essays, stories, and poems. The centerpiece for the course is that greatest of all fish stories and literature’s deadliest catch, Melville’s epic, Moby-Dick. Students consider the transformative experience of life at sea as recounted by the sea-changed voyager who suffers its isolation and character-testing ordeals; the ship as dramatic crucible for conflict among men bound together in a rigid hierarchical structure; and the ocean and its shores as setting for complex encounters between humankind and nature, predator and prey, civilization and savagery.
  • Family in Fiction

    Tolstoy opens Anna Karenina with an idea that perhaps had never been so well expressed: “Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.” This seminar explores fictional families, sometimes made happy, but more often made unhappy, for reasons psychological, social, or even supernatural. Possible texts include Toni Morrison’s Beloved, Zadie Smith’s White Teeth, and Gabriel Garcia Marquez’ One Hundred Years of Solitude.
  • Harlem Renaissance

    There are years that ask questions and years that answer.” —Zora Neale Hurston
    In the aftermath of World War I and the great migration of African-Americans north of the Mason-Dixon line, the Harlem Renaissance began. Part of the Jazz Age and a flowering of all art forms, the Harlem Renaissance gave birth to many pivotal African-American cultural figures who still loom large today, such as Langston Hughes, Bessie Smith, Josephine Baker, Louis Armstrong, and many more. This seminar surveys many of the pivotal writers and thinkers who shaped this illustrious moment through works including Jean Toomer’s Cane, Claude McKay’s Amiable with Big Teeth, and Jessie Redmon Fauset’s Plum Bun; poetry by Langston Hughes, Alice Dunbar Nelson, Georgia Douglas Johnson, and Countee Cullen; short stories by Zora Neale Hurston, Richard Wright, and Charles Johnson; and sections from influential sociologists, such as Marcus Garvey, Charles S. Johnson, and W.E.B. Du Bois.
  • Let’s Get Small: Little Works that Pack a Big Wallop

    This seminar explores how authors tackle some of life’s biggest issues through some of literature’s smallest forms. Students read masterly examples of many literary forms, including aphorisms, epigrams, epitaphs, fragments, flash fiction, fables, haiku, villanelles, and perhaps even a tweet or two. The course pays particularly close attention to the most exciting poetic form in English: the sonnet, that fourteen-line miracle of artistic, emotional, intellectual, and spiritual transformation. With each form studied, students sharpen their understanding of how form interacts with content to create rich, complex literary meaning.
  • Literary Monsters

    The landscape of literary tradition is strewn with monstrous beasties both literal and symbolic. The task of this course is to consider this phenomenon and to explore possible explanations for it. What is the imaginative function of these monsters? To what use are they put by their progenitors? What do they illustrate about us, our deepest fears, our deepest desires? What lies at the intersection of monstrosity and race/racism? Students read from among a selection of disparate texts—fairy tales, short stories, Stevenson’s Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Kafka’s The Metamorphosis, LaValle’s The Changeling, and Shelley’s Frankenstein; Or, The Modern Prometheus, several poems, and two plays—to inspire discussions of monsters great, small, strange, and familiar.
  • London Calling

    London has been depicted as the center of many things: of crime, of theatricality, of collections, of modernity, and, perhaps most significantly, of empire. In this course, students explore London as an idea and a setting, touring through a mix of Victorian and contemporary literary works. Victorian texts include short stories by Dickens and Doyle. From the dark, rainy alleys near 221b Baker Street, the course perambulates to Bloomsbury to explore the “beautiful caves” of Virginia Woolf—through her famous novel Mrs. Dalloway and excerpts from her essay collection, A Room of One’s Own—and flies between London and Calcutta, reading Amitov Ghosh’s The Shadow Lines, a postcolonial novel that ties the two cities together. The semester ends with Zadie Smith’s White Teeth, in which characters of Caribbean, Indian, and British descent try to make sense of their place in London during the declining years of the 20th century. London might be decaying, according to all of these authors, but it is also calling.
  • Once Upon a Time in the Southwest

    This seminar studies various cultural contributions woven together to comprise what we currently term Latinx literature. The texts gesture back to an indigenous past, to a pre-1848 life, to privileging family ties and a connection to the land over INS policy and various immigration acts, to contemporary intergenerational struggles around gender roles, identities, faith, and what it means to speak Spanglish. Readings include Victor Villaseñor’s Rain of Gold, Maria Helena Viramontes’ And Their Dogs Came with Them, Sandra Cisneros’ Caramelo, and Tomás Rivera’s...y no se lo tragó la tierra... And the Earth Did Not Devour Him along with poetry, short stories, and one-act plays.
  • Shakespeare’s Laughter

    In his own day, Shakespeare was at least as renowned for his comedies as for his tragedies and histories. In this course, students read a broad selection of his comedies, considering them not only as works of Shakespeare’s own time—the Renaissance—but also as superb and rich repositories of the profoundest experiences, explored through laughter. Unlike the tragedies, which might be rivaled by some Greek tragedies, there is nothing like Shakespeare’s comedies, either before or since. Shakespeare laughs us into truth, beauty, and ourselves.
  • The Second Self

    Aristotle says that a good friend is a second self and that to be happy, a person needs virtuous friends. But friends can also be rivals, competitors, and sources of envy. In this course, students explore the complex, rewarding, occasionally bewildering nature of friendship, focusing especially on friendships between women. Readings include Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, Toni Morrison’s Sula, Elena Ferrante’s My Brilliant Friend, as well as brief philosophical essays by Plato, Aristotle, and Cicero. The course also involves informal writing assignments, analytical essays, and a personal essay.
  • Songs of Ourselves: Writing Personal Essays and Poems

    This creative writing course focuses on contemporary writing around the COVID-19 pandemic, continuing racial injustice, and the Black Lives Matter movement. Utilizing pre-writing exercises, dialogue, kinesthetic activities, music, and peer workshops to unearth what makes each person unique, students write about the historical moment in which they are living. Inspiration is taken from a selection of essays and poems by Angela Davis, Alice Walker, Terrance Hayes, James Baldwin, and more. Students are encouraged to read as writers do, with a keen eye for imitable techniques of voice, narration, and style. Each student writes two highly polished personal essays and a handful of finely-tuned lyrical poems.
  • Telling Stories: The Art of Writing Fiction

    “Many years later, as he faced the firing squad, Colonel Aureliano Buendía was to remember that distant afternoon when his father took him to discover ice.” This famous first line from Gabriel García Márquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude immediately pulls the reader in. How do you come up with great first lines? How do you keep the reader reading? How do you make your characters come alive on the page? Students investigate these questions and many more in this course on creative writing. The course explores the fundamental elements of fiction—characterization, plot, setting, dialogue, pacing, point of view—and offers exercises designed to develop skills in these areas. Students read stories and novel excerpts from famous writers, analyzing their fiction for technique, learning how writers create the effects they do, and occasionally do written analyses. Most importantly, every student crafts their own fiction. This course is dedicated to creativity and to developing a strong, powerful, and unique literary voice.
  • What the River Knew

    Why are rivers so deeply bound up with storytelling, and why is flowing water such an enduring metaphor for human experience? What did Heraclitus mean when he said: “you cannot step into the same river twice”? Or William James when he coined the phrase “stream of consciousness”? This course is an invitation to wade into questions like these while thinking about the condition of the world’s rivers, which, as poet Robert Hass reminds us, “we need urgently to do at this moment in the history of the human relation to the earth.” Possible readings include such classic river works as Herman Hesse’s Siddhartha, Mark Twain’s Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Jesmyn Ward’s Salvage the Bones, and Edward Abbey’s The Monkey Wrench Gang—novels that raise probing questions about spiritual transformation, racial-political awakening, and environmental activism. Other sources include Olivia Laing’s marvelous To the River (on the layered history of the River Ouse in Sussex, so important to Virginia Woolf), sample essays from Pamela Michael’s anthology The Gift of Rivers: True Stories of Life on the Water, and the advocacy documentary DamNation on the dam-removal projects that seek to rewild America’s rivers.

English

List of 6 members.

  • Photo of Julie Anderson

    Julie Anderson 

    English Teacher
    510-652-0111 x224
  • Photo of Richard Cushman

    Richard Cushman 

    English Teacher
    510-652-0111 x224
  • Photo of Jhoanna Infante

    Jhoanna Infante 

    English Teacher
    510-652-0111 x224
  • Photo of Jeffrey Peterson

    Jeffrey Peterson 

    English Teacher
    510-652-0111 x224
  • Photo of David Robinson

    David Robinson 

    English Teacher
    510-652-0111 x224
  • Photo of Andrea Tinnemeyer

    Andrea Tinnemeyer 

    English Teacher
    510-652-0111 x224

mens conscia recti

a mind aware of what is right