science

大学预科的课程为不同科学分支之间的相互关系提供了坚实的基础和理解。
科学课程帮助学生进行逻辑性和创造性思考,加强解决问题和观察能力,并锻炼分析推理能力。该课程强调物理和生物环境以及不同科学学科领域的具体过程和方法。所有核心课程都需要大量的实验室工作。学生还将熟练使用技术进行数据收集和分析。

学生必须学习三年的科学课程,但许多学生需要学习更多的课程。九年级学生选修物理,十年级学生选修化学,十一年级学生选修荣誉生物或AP生物。高二和高三的学生可以继续学习AP化学、AP环境科学、AP物理或其他科学选修课,如天文学、科学问题和神经科学。

3个项目的清单。

  • 物理(九年级)

    明星为什么会发光?电视机是如何工作的?我们是如何发电的?本课程的重点是物理学原理如何在现实世界中发挥作用。学生学习设计实验,以获得有意义的结果,从而促进他们的知识。实践挑战给学生提供了应用他们的理解和通过多次迭代改进他们的设计的经验。课堂由讲座、讨论、演示、小组作业和实验室探索组成。物理学为学生更透彻地理解后面化学和生物课的概念打下基础,也为他们将来参加AP物理学考试做好准备。
  • 化学(10年级)

    我们如何体验世界上的一切--我们看到的、感觉到的和闻到的--都受到微观粒子及其相互作用的影响。在这门课程中,学生将使用化学基础来接近和解决新的问题,并依靠仔细和有洞察力的逻辑应用来揭示为什么材料会有这样的行为。本课程涵盖了广泛的主题,包括。
    • 热力学
    • 动力学,了解催化剂对加速重要反应的作用。
    • 量子理论,发现生命所需的水的特殊属性。
    • 有机化学,研究人类赖以生存的生物分子。
    化学能培养学生对发现的兴奋感,并通过频繁的实验室实验、活动和演示来支持。希望更深入了解化学的学生有机会在初三或高三时选修AP化学课程。
  • 生物学荣誉课程或AP生物学(11年级)。

    荣誉生物学是生物科学的入门调查,从所有生物体使用的生物化学、遗传和进化工具开始。复杂综合体茎的研究,包括生物圈和人体,重点是研究,案例研究,合作实验室工作和演示。实验室的核心内容是实验设计和数据分析方法。实验室被构建为实验活动、观察或小型实验室演示。学生使用计算机和科学软件进行数据收集和分析,撰写实验报告,分享口头演讲,并完成在线项目。

    AP生物学强调连接所有生命系统的统一主题。学生运用在化学和物理中遇到的概念来解读从蛋白质的分子结构到花朵的绽放模式,再到帮助阅读和理解的神经元中的电压变化。学生掌握一种新的生物语言,将丰富的词汇和实验方法相结合。课堂上探索分子生物学技术,如细菌转化和聚合酶链反应。学生通过撰写正式的实验报告来磨练他们的科学分析能力,并创造性地构建依靠数据、模型系统和生物学众多成熟理论的科学解释。本课程为学生参加AP生物考试做准备。

科学计划

科学选修课

7个项目的清单。

  • AP化学

    相当于大学一年级的普通化学课程,AP化学对十年级化学中所涉及的材料进行了更深入和详细的讲解。该课程强调实验室工作以及定量和定性应用。主题包括结构和性质 物质、化学反应、热力学和平衡。其他学科--特别是生物和生物化学--也会融入课堂主题。合作能力、乐于提出问题和强烈的好奇心是每个AP化学学生的宝贵财富。本课程为学生准备AP化学考试。
  • AP环境科学

    他的课程为学生提供了理解自然界的相互关系、识别和分析环境问题以及研究解决或预防这些问题的替代方案所需的科学原则、概念和方法。环境科学包含了生物学、化学、社会学、地质学和设计学的元素。它侧重于生物与环境之间的生态关系如何受到环境变化的影响。主题包括政府政策对人类人口增长的影响,工业和企业农业如何影响人类和环境健康,以及城市设计和可持续性的最新创新。重点包括在Temescal湖设计实验,测试学生自己后院的土壤质量,以及会见来自水政策、渔业和能源领域的嘉宾演讲。这门课让学生为AP环境科学考试做准备。
  • AP物理学

    下坡赛跑中,保龄球和甜甜圈哪个会赢?为什么汽车是最安全的地方? 雷击?你需要多快的速度才能从地球的引力中逃脱?在这门课程中,学生会对世界进行观察,并利用它们建立抽象模型,使他们能够预测复杂的行为。导数和反导数的概念从课程开始就被使用。AP物理学重点关注经典力学和电磁学,为AP物理C考试做准备。.
  • 天文

    这门拓展思维的课程研究宇宙,从太阳系(包括行星、彗星和小行星)开始,然后是恒星(诞生、演化和死亡),最后是宇宙学(宇宙是如何被创造的,它的当前状态,以及最终如何结束)。主题包括超新星、中子星、脉冲星和黑洞(包括如果你掉进黑洞会发生什么)。爱因斯坦的相对论,对时间和空间的概念至关重要,被深入地介绍了,这导致了对时间旅行及其悖论的讨论。其他重点内容包括太空旅行、其他星球上的生命和暗物质。
  • 科学问题

    我们应该如何决定谁来做心脏移植手术?在病情严重的情况下,协助自杀是否合乎道德?是否应该允许法院下令将连体双胞胎分开?是否应该允许父母以宗教为由不给孩子治疗?我们是否应该克隆人?这些都是在这个以讨论为基础的研讨会中所解决的问题,该研讨会的重点是当前科学中最常见的伦理困境。学生们使用生物伦理学的正式原则来完善论点。该课程利用广泛的学术和流行媒体资源,研究科学研究如何改变我们对世界的理解,以及社会如何反过来被科学工具所改变。
  • 神经科学

    本课程研究的是大脑。大脑是如何发展的?大脑有哪些不同的部分,它们的功能是什么?大脑究竟是如何工作的?药物对它有什么影响?它是如何参与视觉、听觉、体感和运动的?课堂上探讨了大脑是如何发展的?大脑影响着人类的行为,如睡眠、性行为、情绪、学习、记忆和人类交流。学生通过阅读病人的病例史来了解神经系统疾病、其原因以及它们如何影响行为。心灵的哲学方面--意识、思想和感觉的所在地--也被考虑在内。
  • 应用研究。STEM研究项目

    大学预科的STEM课程是为有兴趣在广泛的STEM领域(科学、技术、工程和数学)获得实践研究经验的学生开设的。该课程从春季学期的研讨会(STEM研究第一部分)开始,提供夏季实习所需的基础科学知识和分析技能。在以讨论为基础的课程中,学生学习如何阅读初级科学文献,分析和评论原始数据,并作为研究团队的高效成员工作。该计划的核心内容在夏季进行,学生将与研究导师进行为期六周的全职实习。在秋季,该计划以一个学期的研讨会(STEM研究第二部分)结束,在研讨会上,学生准备了关于他们的夏季研究和设计的海报,并发表正式的科学演讲。大多数实习是在加州大学旧金山分校或加州大学伯克利分校的实验室。
    阅读更多

科学

8名成员名单:

  • Alden Blair的照片

    Alden 布莱尔

    510-652-0111 x223
  • Eva Campodonico的照片

    伊娃 Campodonico 95

    科学老师
    510-652-0111
  • Jack Coakley的照片

    杰克 Coakley

    科学老师
    510-652-0111 x223
  • 迈克-莱恩的照片

    迈克 巷子

    科学老师
    510-652-0111 x223
  • Jeff Sensabaugh的照片

    杰夫 Sensabaugh 87

    科学老师
    510-652-0111 x223
  • Carol Stanton的照片

    卡罗尔 斯坦顿

    科学老师
    510-652-0111 x223
  • Jennifer Tetler的照片

    詹妮弗 Tetler

    科学老师
    510-652-0111 x223
  • 严凯婷的照片

    凯蒂

    生物老师
    510-652-0111 x223

男装CONSCIA REPI

识时务者为俊杰

College Prep’s curriculum provides a firm foundation and an understanding of the interrelationships among the different branches of science.
Science courses help students think logically and creatively, strengthen problem-solving and observational skills, and hone analytical reasoning. The program emphasizes physical and biological environments and the specific processes of and approaches to the different scientific subject areas. All core courses require extensive laboratory work. Students also become adept in the use of technology for data collection and analysis.

Students are required to take three years of science classes, though many take more. Ninth graders take Physics, tenth graders take Chemistry, and eleventh graders take either Honors Biology or AP Biology. Juniors and seniors may continue their studies by taking AP Chemistry, AP Environmental Science, AP Physics or other science electives such as Astronomy, Issues in Science, and Neuroscience.

List of 3 items.

  • Physics (9th grade)

    Why does a star shine? How does a television work? How do we generate electricity? This course focuses on how the principles of physics work in the real world. Students learn to design experiments in order to get meaningful results that further their knowledge. Hands-on challenges give students experience in applying their understanding and improving their designs through multiple iterations. Classes are a mix of lecture, discussion, demonstration, small-group work, and laboratory exploration. Physics lays the foundation for students to more thoroughly understand the concepts in the chemistry and biology classes that follow, and it prepares them to take AP Physics in the future.
  • Chemistry (10th grade)

    How we experience everything in the world—what we see, feel, and smell—is affected by microscopic particles and their interactions. In this course, students approach and solve new problems using the fundamentals of chemistry and rely on careful and insightful application of logic to reveal why material behaves as it does. The course covers a wide range of topics, including:
    • Thermodynamics, to explain why some reactions happen while others do not
    • Kinetics, to understand the role of catalysts to speed important reactions
    • Quantum theory, to discover the special properties of water necessary for life
    • Organic chemistry, to study the biological molecules that are crucial for humans to exist
    Chemistry fosters a sense of excitement for discovery, which is supported by frequent laboratory experiments, activities, and demonstrations. Students wishing to dive more deeply into chemistry have the opportunity to take AP Chemistry in their junior or senior year.
  • Honors Biology or AP Biology (11th grade)

    Honors Biology is an introductory survey of the biological sciences beginning with the biochemical, genetic, and evolutionary tools used by all living organisms. Complex systems are examined including the biosphere and the human body with an emphasis on research, case studies, collaborative lab work, and presentations. The core laboratory component is experimental design and methods of data analysis. Labs are constructed as experimental activities, observations, or mini-lab demonstrations. Students use computers and scientific software for data collection and analysis, write lab reports, share oral presentations, and complete online projects.

    AP Biology
    emphasizes the unifying themes that connect all living systems. Students employ concepts encountered in chemistry and physics to decipher everything from the molecular structure of proteins to the blooming patterns of flowers to the voltage changes in neurons that help with reading and understanding. Students master a new biological language that combines rich vocabulary and experimental methods. The class explores molecular biology techniques such as bacterial transformation and the polymerase chain reaction. Students hone their scientific analysis by writing formal lab reports and work creatively to construct scientific explanations that rely on data, model systems, and biology’s numerous well-established theories. This course prepares students for the AP Biology Exam.

the science program

science electives

List of 7 items.

  • AP Chemistry

    The equivalent of a first-year college general chemistry course, AP Chemistry goes into greater depth and detail on the material covered in tenth-grade chemistry. The course emphasizes lab work and quantitative and qualitative applications. Topics include the structure and properties of matter, chemical reactions, thermodynamics, and equilibrium. Other disciplines—particularly biology and biochemistry—are integrated into class topics. Cooperative work skills, a willingness to ask questions, and a deep well of curiosity are valuable assets for every AP Chemistry student. This class prepares students for the AP Chemistry Exam.
  • AP Environmental Science

    his course provides students with the scientific principles, concepts, and methodologies required to understand the interrelationships of the natural world, to identify and analyze environmental problems, and to examine alternative solutions for resolving or preventing such problems. Environmental science incorporates elements of biology, chemistry, sociology, geology, and design. It focuses on how the ecological relationships between organisms and their environments are influenced by environmental change. Topics include the impact of governmental policies on human population growth, how industrial and corporate agriculture affect human and environmental health, and the latest innovations in city design and sustainability. Highlights include designing experiments at Lake Temescal, testing the quality of soil from students’ own backyards, and meeting guest speakers from the water policy, fisheries, and energy fields. This class prepares students for the AP Environmental Science Exam.
  • AP Physics

    Which will win in a downhill race: a bowling ball or a doughnut? Why is a car the safest place to be in a lightning strike? How fast do you need to go to escape from the Earth’s gravitational pull? In this course, students take observations about the world and use them to build abstract models that allow them to predict sophisticated behavior. The concepts of the derivative and the anti-derivative are used from the beginning of the course. AP Physics focuses on classical mechanics and electromagnetism in preparation for the AP Physics C Exam.
  • Astronomy

    This mind-expanding course investigates the universe, starting with the solar system (including planets, comets, and asteroids), followed by stars (birth, evolution, and death), and ending with cosmology (how the universe was created, its current state, and ultimately how it will end). Topics include supernovas, neutron stars, pulsars, and black holes (including what would happen if you fell into one). Einstein’s theories of relativity, essential for the conception of time and space, are covered in depth, which leads to a discussion of time travel and its paradoxes. Other highlights include space travel, life on other planets, and dark matter.
  • Issues in Science

    How should we decide who will get a heart transplant? Is assisted suicide ethical in cases of grave illness? Should the courts be allowed to order conjoined twins separated? Should parents be allowed to withhold medical treatment from children on religious grounds? Should we clone humans? These are the sorts of questions addressed in this discussion-based seminar that focuses on the most current ethical dilemmas in science. Students use the formal principles of bioethics to refine arguments. The course draws upon a wide variety of academic and popular media sources to examine how scientific research is changing our understanding of the world, and how society, in turn, is being transformed by scientific tools.
  • Neuroscience

    This course investigates the brain. How did it develop? What are the different parts of the brain and what are their functions? How does it actually work? How do pharmaceuticals affect it? How is it involved in vision, hearing, body sense, and motion? The class explores how the brain affects human behavior, such as sleep, sexuality, emotions, learning, memory, and human communication. Students read case histories of patients to learn about neurological disorders, their causes, and how they affect behavior. The philosophical aspects of the mind—the seat of consciousness, thought, and feeling— are also considered.
  • Applied Studies: STEM Research Program

    College Prep’s STEM program is for students interested in getting hands-on research experience in a broad array of STEM fields (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics). The course begins with a spring semester seminar (STEM Research Part I) that provides the foundational scientific knowledge and analytical skills needed for a summer internship. During discussion-based classes, students learn how to read primary scientific literature, analyze and critique raw data, and work as a productive member of a research team. The core of the program takes place during the summer, when students are matched with research mentors for full-time, six-week internships. In the fall, the program concludes with a semester-long seminar (STEM Research Part II) in which students prepare a poster about their summer research and design and deliver a formal scientific talk. Most placements are in labs at either UCSF or UC Berkeley.
    Read More

Science

List of 8 members.

  • Photo of Alden Blair

    Alden Blair 

    510-652-0111 x223
  • Photo of Eva Campodonico

    Eva Campodonico 95

    Science Teacher
    510-652-0111
  • Photo of Jack Coakley

    Jack Coakley 

    Science Teacher
    510-652-0111 x223
  • Photo of Mike Lane

    Mike Lane 

    Science Teacher
    510-652-0111 x223
  • Photo of Jeff Sensabaugh

    Jeff Sensabaugh 87

    Science Teacher
    510-652-0111 x223
  • Photo of Carol Stanton

    Carol Stanton 

    Science Teacher
    510-652-0111 x223
  • Photo of Jennifer Tetler

    Jennifer Tetler 

    Science Teacher
    510-652-0111 x223
  • Photo of Katy Yan

    Katy Yan 

    Biology Teacher
    510-652-0111 x223

mens conscia recti

a mind aware of what is right