世界语言

大学预科的世界语言课程是以沉浸式为基础的,互动式的,合作式的。该部门的主要目标是激励学生在课堂之外追求语言。生动的课堂为学生注入了对语言和文化的热情,让他们学会自信地交流。
学生们通过交谈、唱歌、讨论,有时还可以通过跳舞来加深对四种语言之一的理解。中文、法文、拉丁文或西班牙文。每个学生都应该阅读,写作,并展示对一种语言的理解,在中文,法语和西班牙语的情况下,以合理的流利程度说这种语言。高级课程为学生准备AP考试。虽然学习一门语言的第三级就可以满足毕业要求,但大多数学生都会学习AP级别的课程。分级考试用于确定每个学生的适当级别的语言班。

4个项目的清单。

  • 中文

    在商业、经济、政治、文化和文学方面,中国在世界舞台上扮演着越来越重要的角色。说中文的人比任何其他语言都多。大学预科的汉语课程通过提供听、说、读、写的坚实基础,鼓励学生参与这一全球对话。学生首先要学习主要在中国大陆使用的简体字。学习中文的学生在离开学院预科时,将为大学的高级语言学习做好准备,并具备与世界各地以中文为母语的人进行写作和对话的能力。

    中一、中二、中三
    初级和中级汉语课程侧重于发展现代标准汉语的听、说、读、写技能,使用拼音和简体字。重点是在口语、语调和一般发音方面打下坚实的基础。随着课程的进展,学生在多媒体材料的帮助下加深对中国语言和文化的理解,并获得在真实世界的中文环境中茁壮成长的能力。
     
    美联社中文网
    中文课程的高潮课程旨在通过阅读、电影和演讲引发讨论并回答问题。孔子是谁,他的哲学如何影响了中国人的思想和生活?中国有哪些主要的传统节日,人们如何庆祝这些节日?在中国,中学生的典型一天是什么?学生们将比较各种区别和连接中美文化的规范和做法,同时继续增加他们的词汇量和对语法的理解。本课程的所有学生都将为AP中国语言文化考试做好准备并进行练习。
  • 法国人

    大学预科法语课程教授学生听、说、读、写,与他们学习母语的方式类似:完全浸入式学习。在最初的两年里,学生掌握了语法基础、会话的基本词汇,并熟悉法国文化。在学生完成第二年的学习后,随着法国和法语世界的深入研究,正宗的文学作品将被引入。第三年后,学生有资格参加法语研讨会。文学分析、对法国社会的社会学解读、论文写作、习惯用法、会话和风格要点是每个研讨会不可或缺的内容。为了补充课业,教师偶尔会安排学生参观法国戏剧、电影和餐馆。

    法语一、二、三
    在法语入门课程中,新的材料以口头形式呈现,然后以书面形式学习。在每节课的最后,学生们都会练习自己的写作技巧。诸如短剧、时装表演和烹饪等活动让学生以有趣和令人兴奋的方式使用词汇。结合电影、音乐和电脑的多媒体项目加强了学习过程。学生掌握了基本的语言语法,并建立了进行有趣对话所需的信心和技能。随着课程的进展,学生们会写出更多精心创作的文章,应用新的词汇和结构,并阅读他们的第一本小说,Maryse Condé的《Rêves Amers》。中级班从语言学习过渡到学习法语国家的文学和文明。通过Anne-Laure Bondoux的小说《Le Temps des Miracles》、Maryse Condé的《Le Coeur à Rire et à Pleurer》和电影《Indochine》等材料探索文化。(2020-21年不提供法语I)。

    AP法语研讨会:从"新法语"到"植物大战僵尸"。电影告诉我们什么?
    电影是否反映了当时的社会政治背景?艺术是模仿还是放大现实?通过电影我们可以了解到法国社会、历史和文化的什么?它与美国的经验相比如何?本讲座将法国电影视为社会的反映。本课程通过二战前到今天的"7ème艺术",探讨法国政治和文化景观的变化。这门课还包括定期的语法复习,并为学生参加AP法语考试做准备。
  • 拉丁语

    拉丁语课程为学生提供了阅读拉丁语的设施,以及对罗马文明的理解和欣赏。所有拉丁语课程都强调古罗马人的语言、文学、历史和文化。从课程一开始,学生们就学会识别诗歌和散文中的拉丁语习语,捕捉文学典故的辉煌,并在学术研究的背景下表达自己的观点。大学预科的拉丁语俱乐部支持学生对教材的热爱。所有拉丁语学生在3月参加全国拉丁语考试,选择参加AP拉丁语考试的学生为5月的考试做好充分准备。 

    拉丁文一、二、三
    拉丁语 是一门美丽的语言。为了获得它的光辉,学生们会在初级课程中深入研究基础知识,包括语法、词汇、文化和历史。词源学、法律和医学表达方式,以及古典文学领域的入门研究技术都会被介绍。惠洛克的拉丁文是主要的教材,补充了《三十八个拉丁故事》中的故事和寓言。中级课程标志着首次进入持续的罗马文学领域。强调翻译、解释和语境。学生学会识别特定历史时期的习惯用语。阅读散文和诗歌是为了准备AP拉丁文课程。学生将探索从共和国垮台到朱利奥-克劳迪王朝这段时期;这个跨度包含了古典拉丁语和黄金拉丁语的传统时期,是对罗马辉煌时代的一次惊心动魄的调查。

    AP拉丁语:罗马实验
    本课程使用了两个主要文本,即凯撒的De Bello Gallico和维吉尔的Aeneid公国的衰落与奥古斯都光荣的公国的崛起形成鲜明对比。诸如pietas、领导力、神的作用和爱情等概念贯穿于这些作品中,对话的中心是叙事及其主题。学生们在语法、句法和分析能力方面得到了扩展,在文学阐释方面也更加深入。历史背景是理解的关键,本课程探讨如何在浏览这些动作丰富的文章时最好地保留罗马文化。本课程为学生准备AP拉丁文考试。
  • 西班牙语

    凭借他们的会话技能,西班牙学生拥有一本语言护照,可以探索近二十多个用西班牙语进行生活的国家和地区。所有的西班牙语课程都包含了利用这些丰富的文化和语言多样性的活动。通过对话、解决问题、辩论、演讲、表演和创作等浸入式学习西班牙语。在完成三年级的西班牙语课程后,学生可以参加AP研讨会。

    西班牙语一、二、三
    在西班牙语I和II中,鼓励学生进行口头交流,并且从一开始就要求学生在课堂上使用该语言。主要的教科书,Bitácora III,提供了一个创新的,以学生为中心的方法,发展语言技能,强调文化能力。交流技巧、语法和词汇被整合到各种活动中,包括小组项目、短剧、演讲、视频、歌曲和对话。课文中辅以音乐、电影和网络短片。西班牙语III的主题是"创造力和想象力"。活动包括写诗和故事,以及阅读、写作和展示一个关于La Casa de Mango Street的短剧。学生以TED演讲为蓝本进行开发和演讲。课程主题包括职业、关系、食品、科学、技术、环境和人权。除课本外,课程材料还包括电影、文章、音乐、播客和当地文化活动。
     
    AP西班牙语研讨会
    地方的研究。西班牙世界的文化、历史和生活。
    地理和人类之间的相互作用如何塑造一个地方的文化和语言?本研讨会重点关注西班牙世界的历史、社会和地方的传统,如马丘比丘、墨西哥-特诺奇蒂特兰和哈瓦那的海滨。课堂讨论、论文和口头报告都是基于电影、西班牙和拉丁美洲的电视和广播节目、YouTube剪辑、日常新闻、文学摘要和音乐。每学期末需要完成一个独立项目,鼓励学生参加课外文化活动。本课程为学生准备AP西班牙语语言和文化考试。

    AP西班牙语研讨会
    拉美和美国拉丁裔文化中的身份认同
    本研讨会从玛雅人的创世故事开始,探讨拉美和美国拉丁人的身份,贯穿各个时代。该课程探讨土著神灵和文化偶像,如La Virgen de Guadalupe,追溯其在当代奇卡诺艺术和旧金山任务区壁画中的演变和象征意义。本书摘录了一个拉美奴隶的故事,帮助学生了解非洲裔拉美人的身份是如何被奴役和废除的遗产所塑造的。美国奇卡诺人和拉美裔身份的探讨:用于描述一个多样化集体的许多术语以及这些术语是如何演变的,与拉美裔身份和美国有色人种的关系,以及"estadounidenses"如何阐述他们的经验。课堂讨论、论文和口头报告都是基于阅读、电影、视频剪辑、新闻文章、视觉艺术和音乐。本课程为学生准备AP西班牙语语言和文化考试。

世界语言

7名成员名单:

  • Photo of Jilynnette Centeno-Millan

    Jilynnette Centeno-Millan 

    西班牙语教师
    510-652-0111 x233
  • Liset Cruz Garcia的照片

    Liset Cruz Garcia

    西班牙语教师
    510-652-0111 x 233
  • Tania Triana的照片

    塔尼亚 Triana

    西班牙语教师
    510-652-0111 x233
  • Rong Zhang 

    普通话老师
    510-652-0111 x233
  • Jose Guzman Dominguez 

    西班牙语教师
    510-652-0111 x233
  • Lana  Robinson-Sum 

    Latin Teacher
    510-652-0111 x233
  • Myriam Da Silva 

    法语教师
    510-652-0111 x233

男装CONSCIA REPI

识时务者为俊杰

The World Languages program at College Prep is immersion based, interactive, and collaborative. The department’s primary goal is to inspire students to pursue language beyond the classroom. Lively classes infuse students with a passion for languages and cultures as they learn to communicate with confidence.
Students talk, sing, discuss, and sometimes dance their way to a greater understanding of one of four languages: Chinese, French, Latin, or Spanish. Every student is expected to read, write, and demonstrate comprehension in a language and, in the case of Chinese, French, and Spanish, to speak that language with reasonable fluency. Advanced level courses prepare students for AP exams. Although studying through level III of one language satisfies the requirement for graduation, studying through the AP level is undertaken by most students. Placement tests are used to determine the appropriate level language class for each student.

List of 4 items.

  • Chinese

    In business, economics, politics, culture, and literature, China has taken an increasingly important role on the world stage. More people speak Chinese than any other language. College Prep’s Mandarin Chinese program encourages students to participate in this global conversation by providing a strong foundation in listening, speaking, reading, and writing. Students begin by learning the simplified characters that are used primarily in mainland China. Those who study Chinese leave College Prep prepared for advanced language study in college and are well equipped to interact—both in writing and in conversation—with native speakers of Chinese throughout the world.

    Chinese I, II, and III
    Beginning and intermediate Chinese courses focus on developing listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in modern standard Chinese, using pinyin and simplified characters. Emphasis is placed on establishing a solid foundation in speaking, tones, and general pronunciation. As students progress through the program, they deepen their understanding of Chinese language and culture with the help of multimedia materials and acquire the ability to thrive in a real-world Chinese-speaking environment.
     
    AP Chinese
    The culminating course in the Chinese program seeks to spark discussion and answer questions through readings, films, and presentations. Who was Confucius and how has his philosophy influenced how Chinese people think and live? What are the major traditional Chinese holidays and how do people celebrate them? What is a typical day for a high school student in China? Students compare various norms and practices that distinguish and connect the Chinese and American cultures, all while continuing to build their vocabulary and understanding of grammar. All students in this class are prepared for and practice the material found on the AP Chinese Language and Culture Exam.
  • French

    The College Prep French program teaches students to listen, speak, read, and then write, in a way similar to how they learned their native language: total immersion. During the first two years, students acquire the fundamentals of grammar, essential vocabulary for conversation, and familiarity with French culture. After students complete the second year, authentic literature is introduced as France and the francophone world are studied in greater depth. After the third year, students are eligible to enroll in a French seminar. Literary analysis, sociological interpretations of French society, essay writing, idiomatic usage, conversation, and fine points of style are integral to each seminar. To supplement class work, teachers occasionally schedule trips to French plays, films, and restaurants.

    French I, II, and III
    In the introductory French courses, new material is presented orally and then studied in written form. Students practice their skills writing original compositions at the end of each lesson. Activities such as skits, fashion shows, and cooking allow students to use vocabulary in fun and exciting ways. Multimedia projects incorporating film, music, and computers enhance the learning process. Students master the basic syntax of the language and build the confidence and skills needed to hold an interesting conversation. As students progress through the program, they write more elaborate and creative essays, apply new vocabulary and structures and read their first novel, Maryse Condé’s Rêves Amers. Intermediate classes transition from language acquisition to the study of the literature and civilizations of francophone countries. Culture is explored through materials such as Anne-Laure Bondoux’s novel Le Temps des Miracles, Maryse Condé’s Le Coeur à Rire et à Pleurer, and the film Indochine. (French I not offered 2020-21).

    AP French Seminar : From Nouvelle Vague to Zombies: What Movies Tell Us about Us
    Does cinema reflect the sociopolitical context of its time? Does art mimic or amplify reality? What can we learn about French society, history, and culture through films? How does it compare to the American experience? This seminar considers French cinema as a reflection of society. The course explores the changing political and cultural landscape of France through its “7ème art” from pre-World War II to today. This class also includes periodic grammar review and prepares students for the AP French Exam.
  • Latin

    The Latin program gives students facility in reading Latin and an understanding and appreciation of Roman civilization. All Latin classes emphasize the language, literature, history, and culture of the ancient Romans. From the beginning of the program, students learn to recognize Latin idioms in poetry and prose, capture the brilliance of literary allusion, and express their opinions within the context of academic research. College Prep’s Latin Club supports students in their love of the material. All Latin students take the National Latin Exam in March, and those who choose to take AP Latin are prepared thoroughly for the examination in May. 

    Latin l, II, and III
    Latin is a beautiful language. To access its glory, students spend the beginning courses delving into the basics, including grammar, vocabulary, culture, and history. Etymologies, legal and medical expressions, and introductory research techniques for the field of Classics are introduced. Wheelock’s Latin is the primary textbook, with supplemental stories and fables from Thirty-Eight Latin Stories. Intermediate courses mark the first foray into sustained Roman literature. Translation, interpretation, and context are emphasized. Students learn to recognize idiomatic expressions within specific periods of history. Both prose and poetry are read in preparation for AP Latin. Students explore the period from the Fall of the Republic to the Julio-Claudian Dynasty; this span incorporates the traditional periods of Classical and Golden Latin, and is a thrilling survey of the glory days of Rome.

    AP Latin: The Roman Experiment
    This course uses two main texts, Julius Caesar’s De Bello Gallico and Vergil’s Aeneid. The fall of the Res Publica, in all its drama, is contrasted with the rise of Augustus’s glorious Principate. Concepts such as pietas, leadership, the role of the gods, and love flow throughout these works, and conversations center on the narrative and its themes. Students expand their grammatical, syntactical, and analytical skills with more depth in literary interpretation. Historical context is key to comprehension, and this course explores how best to retain Roman culture while navigating these action-packed texts. This class prepares students for the AP Latin Exam.
  • Spanish

    With their conversational skills at the ready, Spanish students have a linguistic passport to explore almost two dozen countries and territories that conduct life in Spanish. All Spanish classes incorporate activities that draw on this wealth of cultural and linguistic variety. Spanish is learned via immersion through conversing, problem solving, debating, speech making, acting, and composing. After completing the third year of Spanish, students are ready to take AP seminars.

    Spanish l, II, and III                          
    In Spanish I and II, students are encouraged to communicate orally and, from the beginning, are required to use the language in class. The primary textbooks, Bitácora I and II, offer an innovative, student-centered approach that develops language skills and emphasizes cultural competency. Communication skills, grammar, and vocabulary are integrated into a variety of activities that include small-group projects, skits, presentations, videos, songs, and conversations. The text is supplemented with music, film, and internet clips. The theme of Spanish III is “creativity and imagination.” Activities include writing poems and stories, and reading, writing, and presenting a short play about La Casa de Mango Street. Students develop and deliver presentations modeled on TED talks. Course topics include professions, relationships, food, science, technology, the environment, and human rights. Beyond the textbook, the course materials include films, articles, music, podcasts, and local cultural events.
     
    AP Spanish Seminar
    A Study of Place: Culture, History, and Life in the Hispanic World
    How does the interplay between geography and humans shape a place’s culture and language? This seminar focuses on the history, society, and traditions of places in the Hispanic world, such as Machu Picchu, México-Tenochtitlán, and Havana’s seafront. Class discussions, papers, and oral presentations are based on films, Spanish and Latin American television and radio programs, YouTube clips, daily news, literary extracts, and music. An independent project is required at the end of each semester, and attendance at cultural events outside of class is encouraged. This class prepares students for the AP Spanish Language and Culture Exam.

    AP Spanish Seminar
    Identity in Latin American and US Latino Culture
    This seminar explores Latin-American and US Latinx identity through the ages, beginning with the creation story of the Maya people. The course explores indigenous deities and cultural icons such as La Virgen de Guadalupe, tracing their evolution and symbolism in contemporary Chicano art and murals in San Francisco’s Mission District. Excerpts from the one Latin-American slave narrative in print help students learn how Afro-Latino identity has been shaped by the legacy of enslavement and abolition. US Chicano and Latinx identity are explored: the many terms used to describe a diverse collective and how these have evolved, the relationship to Latin American identity and people of color in the US, and how “estadounidenses” articulate their experiences. Class discussions, papers, and oral presentations are based on readings, films, video clips, news articles, visual art, and music. This class prepares students for the AP Spanish Language and Culture Exam.

World Languages

List of 5 members.

  • Photo of Liset Cruz Garcia

    Liset Cruz Garcia 

    Spanish Teacher
    510-652-0111 x 255
  • Photo of Ryan Dooley

    Ryan Dooley 

    Department Head, Latin Teacher
  • Photo of Jasmine Hsu

    Jasmine Hsu 

    Mandarin Teacher
    510-652-0111 x233
  • Photo of Patricia Rossoukh

    Patricia Rossoukh 

    French Teacher
    510-652-0111 x224
  • Photo of Tania Triana

    Tania Triana 

    Spanish Teacher
    510-652-0111 x233

mens conscia recti

a mind aware of what is right